Volcanoes in Greece

Greek: Ηφαιστεια Στην Ελλαδα
Number of Volcanoes in Greece: 8
Last eruption: 1950 on the island of Santorini.

Map of volcanoes in Greece.

Map of volcanoes in Greece.

Volcanoes have shaped the Greek landscape for thousands of years, with one of the biggest eruptions occurring on the island of Santorini 3,500 years ago. There are a total of 8 volcanoes in Greece occupying the islands of the Aegean Sea. They are located in Kos, Methana, Milos, Nisyros, Poros, Santorini (has 2) and Yali. The last eruption of any of these volcanoes was in 1950 when the Mea Kameni volcano erupted on the island of Santorini. Most of the volcanic islands have a unique landscape to the island from their volcanoes. Santorini is famous for its caldera cliffs (which is a cauldron-like volcanic feature usually formed by the collapse of land following a volcanic eruption). Mylos with its bone white beaches that derive its unusual characteristics from volcanic rocks shaped by wind and waves.

One of the more interesting volcanoes is the Nisyros volcano. The volcano makes up the entire island and has become a popular tourist attraction. It is an active volcano that is 160,000 years old. Several millennia ago Nisyros was once part of the island of Kos but a volcanic eruption occurred that split the two islands apart. Pockets of hot water can still be found in the spot where the volcano used to be in Kos. In 1872 a volcanic eruption occurred on the island forming a crater of about 6 to 7 meters long as mud and ash spewed out and a lake was formed with hot salty water.

Volcano in Nisyros:

Leave a Reply